streamnomad.blogg.se

Set up mac file sharing guest
Set up mac file sharing guest




set up mac file sharing guest
  1. #SET UP MAC FILE SHARING GUEST FULL#
  2. #SET UP MAC FILE SHARING GUEST PASSWORD#
  3. #SET UP MAC FILE SHARING GUEST WINDOWS 7#

#SET UP MAC FILE SHARING GUEST PASSWORD#

OFF password protected sharing, and Allow Windows to manage homegroup settings. Turn ON network discovery, turn ON file and printer sharing, Turn ON sharing so anyone with network access., Media streaming is ON, Use 128-bit encryption, Turn Network and Sharing Center -> Advanced Sharing Settings -> Current profile is Home of Work. My home network has capital letters but no spaces in it. When I highlight the router, it says "connection failed." This seems not to matter. Of course Airport is connected to my home network.įinder -> Shared Locations sees my router, but nothing else. However, I toggle with Intego's VirusBarrier X6 and if set to Client, Local Server this works as well. Security -> Firewall is set to Allow All Incoming Connections. The NetBIOS name automatically fills in, I'm assuming because I'm successfully sharing on the network. Network -> Advanced -> WINS has the workgroup name WORKGROUP.

set up mac file sharing guest

#SET UP MAC FILE SHARING GUEST WINDOWS 7#

It is password protected, and has the same password as my Windows 7 desktop. My Computer Name can have many different kinds of characters in it, including capital letters,Īccounts -> The name of my account has a space in it, and capital letters, but that seems not to matter. Under Options, SMB is the only thing checked. Sharing -> File Sharing ON, I shared my desktop and gave Everyone Read and Write privileges. I reformatted my Mac and installed Snow Leopard (10.6.4), and now it shares fine. Okay, so the strangest thing just occurred.

#SET UP MAC FILE SHARING GUEST FULL#

Of course both the Mac and the PC have full connectivity to the same network.Īlso, I have disabled the internal firewall in the Belkin router.Īlso, my accounts have identical names with no spaces. This is when my Mac says it is "connected" when I click on the router in Finder's I can click on my Mac computer name in the Network window, but I get the error message that it cannot connect (network path cannot be found, using \\MYMACNAME as the path). However, when I put this into the Connect to Server or Connect to File window, there is an error. I am sharing my Desktop and My Documents with Everyone and Guest, and Windows 7 has provided a file://computername/Users/foldername path. Sharing is NOT password protected under Advanced Sharing Options It would be nice to use the smb://DNSname/sharename or the smb://IPaddress/sharename function in the Go to Server window, but I have no idea where to find this information on my PC. But I cannot connect to it, probably because I'm connecting from my Mac. Under the Shared location in Finder, I can see my shared name for my Mac. However, I can't see the PC or anything at all, in fact. Under the Shared location in Finder, I can see my router name, and if I click on it, I can connect. When I put the addresses into the Windows Run dialogue box or in Internet Explorer, they don't seem to recognizeįirewall is set to Allow All Incoming Connections Mac gives an smb://.x address and a local network accession "mycomputername.local," but I don't know what to do with either of these things. Shared my Desktop, Public Folder, Documents, and Shared folders (just to cover root folders and specific ones too) Users are set to Everyone with read/write privileges I have tried the Mac forums and the Windows forums, to no avail. I am having extreme difficulties sharing files over my home network! I have 3 PCs and one Mac.






Set up mac file sharing guest